Do You Need an Experienced DUI Defense Attorney in Washington County?
There is absolutely no question that if you face DUI penalties in Washington County, you’ll need an experienced attorney on your side. The state of Oregon is one of the strictest when handing out punishments for driving under the influence. For the record, non-commercial drivers aged 21+ are considered ‘over the limit’ when their blood alcohol level is 0.08+.
If you drive a commercial vehicle, the BAC limit falls to 0.04 and if you are under 21, any trace of alcohol in your system could lead to an arrest. If you don’t have a Washington County DUI lawyer like Andy Green on your side, there is a chance that you could end up in prison.
It is entirely possible that you made a foolish mistake and were caught driving while slightly over the limit. There is even a chance that the police officer used a faulty breathalyzer or didn’t follow the correct protocol. Regardless of the circumstances, if you don’t have good DUI representation, there is a possibility that you will be excessively punished.
“Amazing person, ridiculously skilled attorney. Definitely use Andy as your go-to guy.”
Schedule a free initial consultation
What Could Happen if I Am Found Guilty of DUI Charges in Washington County?
The law in Oregon is very clear on the matter which is why you need an excellent DUI defense in Washington County. If you are a first, second or third-time offender, a DUI is classified as a Class A misdemeanor (in most cases) which carries a maximum penalty of one year in prison and a fine of up to $6,250.
If you have committed a fourth DUI offense in 10 years, it is seen as a Class C felony which could result in a maximum of five years in prison and a fine of $125,000. Overall, a first-time offender’s mandatory punishment is a fine of $1,000 and a license suspension period of at least 90 days.
If you have high-quality DUI representation, such as what Andy Green provides, it is possible to benefit from DUI diversion. These programs require defendants to undergo alcohol treatment, complete specific DUI classes, and submit to community service. On the plus side, DUI diversion programs ensure your charges are otherwise dropped. DUI diversion programs are ideal for first-time offenders and studies show they do an excellent job of reducing recidivism rates.
Get in Touch with the Best DUI Attorney in Washington County
If you are facing DUI charges in Washington County, it is normal to feel emotions such as pain, anger, depression, and even denial. However, time is not on your side in Oregon so you have to try and progress to the ‘Acceptance’ phase as soon as you can.
This will enable you to get in touch with Andy Green, an experienced DUI lawyer in Washington County. He has helped hundreds of clients in the last five years and his thorough research of each case ensures that defendants have the best possible chance of benefiting from a positive outcome. Andy also offers a free 24/7 phone consultation and even visits clients in jail.
There are many issues that can be challenged, including the breath test, the field sobriety test, probable cause for making the traffic stop and the handling of blood test results. Even police conduct at the scene can often be challenged for violation of your rights.
If this is your first underage DUI offense, one possible resolution is DUI diversion. If you successfully complete the year-long diversion program, the court will dismiss your DUI and you will not have a conviction on your record. As your lawyer, I will explain your options and shepherd you through the process.
For a free initial consultation, call or contact my Portland law firm online. I have helped numerous minors with their underage drinking charges.