Do You Need an Experienced DUI Defense Attorney in Clackamas County?
Clackamas County is the third largest county in Oregon in population terms with over 375,000 residents. It is filled with thriving communities but all it takes is one mistake to destroy everything. If you overindulged and got behind the wheel, there is a real risk of facing DUI charges.
As you know, drink driving claims many lives on our nation’s roads and like most states, Oregon harshly punishes those convicted of DUI. You are deemed as being over the limit if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08 or more. This falls to 0.04 if you drive a commercial vehicle and 0 if under the age of 21.
Can DUI Charges Ruin My Life?
Unfortunately, the answer is ‘yes’. There are countless tales of people with spotless reputations who saw their lives fall apart after a DUI conviction. As well as paying a heavy fine and perhaps spending some time in jail, such individuals lose their jobs and are sometimes ostracized in their communities.
If you are facing this awful situation, you need a Clackamas DUI attorney such as Andy Green right away. In Oregon, you have to submit to a breathalyzer test upon request; failure to comply means you will face DUI charges. If this happens to you, there are only ten days to appeal which means you need a DUI attorney in Clackamas County as soon as you are charged.
“Amazing person, ridiculously skilled attorney. Definitely use Andy as your go-to guy.”
Schedule a free initial consultation
Why Would I Need a Clackamas County DUI Attorney?
The penalties for DUI are potentially severe. If you’re lucky, as a first-time offender you will escape with a 90-day license suspension and a $1,000 fine. However, it is possible to receive a year in jail along with a fine of up to $6,250. If this is your first offense, Andy could help get your charges dropped in return for your participation in a DUI diversion program.
You could be eligible for a DUI diversion program if your BAC level was below 0.15 and your actions did not result in criminal damage or injury. Typically, a DUI diversion program involves community service, payment of fines and attendance at alcohol programs in exchange for a suspended sentence. In Oregon, you are ineligible for DUI diversion if you have a conviction within the last 15 years.
In some circumstances, such as if you are a fourth-time offender, your DUI charges could be upgraded to a Class C felony. If convicted, you could spend five years in prison and be forced to pay a fine of up to $125,000.
Meet Your DUI Attorney in Clackamas County
If you need a Clackamas DUI attorney, look no further than Andy Green. He has several years of trial experience and has defended hundreds of clients to date. Andy is known for his tireless efforts to review the minutiae of every case and formulate a plan to get charges
There are many issues that can be challenged, including the breath test, the field sobriety test, probable cause for making the traffic stop and the handling of blood test results. Even police conduct at the scene can often be challenged for violation of your rights.
If this is your first underage DUI offense, one possible resolution is DUI diversion. If you successfully complete the year-long diversion program, the court will dismiss your DUI and you will not have a conviction on your record. As your lawyer, I will explain your options and shepherd you through the process.
For a free initial consultation, call or contact my Portland law firm online. I have helped numerous minors with their underage drinking charges.
Hi, I’m Andy Green, DUI & criminal defense attorney who has successfully represented clients who have been arrested and are facing DUI or other criminal charges in the greater Portland area. Contact our law firm today for a free consultation to ensure the best possible outcome at a competitive price.