Oregon Drivers License Reinstatement: Is This Possible After a 3rd DUI in Oregon?
If your license was revoked for a 3rd lifetime DUI or a felony DUI, it is possible to drive again. 10 years from the date of conviction, or release from prison, you can petition the court to reinstate your driving privileges if you meet certain requirements.
Statute ORS-809.235 [https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/809.235] outlines the DL requirements concerning permanent revocation for any 3rd DUI in Oregon.
“Amazing person, ridiculously skilled attorney. Definitely use Andy as your go-to guy.”
Schedule a free initial consultation
Must Appear in Front of a Judge
You’ll need to file a petition and appear in front of a judge for an Oregon drivers license reinstatement in the county you were convicted in. It’s important to understand that the judge does not have to grant your petition. It’s also not uncommon for the District Attorney to object to your reinstatement. That’s why it’s vital to have an attorney familiar and experienced with putting these petitions together. I’ve filed and won these cases in counties throughout Oregon
The judge will look at several things in determining whether or not to restore your diving privileges. Those factors include, but are not limited to the nature of the original conviction, other criminal and non-criminal behavior before and after the conviction, and a psychological evaluation determining whether you’re currently a threat to the public’s safety.
DMV Imposes Further Restrictions.
If a judge does grant your petition, you’re not done there. Next you’ll have to go to DMV and apply for a new license. DMV will require you to install and use an ignition interlock device for 5 years, among other requirements.
If you’re ready to appear before a judge and happy to install an IID following a successful screening, there’s a strong chance I can help you regain your license.
Get in touch—find out how I can help you regain your independence.