hiring a dui attorney on your first charge

Do I need a lawyer for a first DUI charge in Oregon?

Being arrested and charged for your first DUI is terrifying. Each state is different in handling drunk driving cases, specifically the laws and procedures surrounding implied consent laws, driver’s license suspensions, diversion programs, convictions, fines and penalties. 

If you have been recently arrested for driving under the influence in the state of Oregon, you may want to familiarize yourself with the details of the drunk driving laws; more importantly that you speak with an experienced DUI Attorney who can help you navigate the complicated Oregon legal system. If you have been arrested and charged with a first-time DUI call the top-rated Portland DUI law firm of Andy Green Attorney at Law, P.C. at 503-477-5040 for a free case evaluation.  

The single biggest mistake drivers make following their first-time DUI arrest in Oregon is the assumption they don’t need to hire a private attorney. DUI penalties are severe and can follow you for the rest of your life. In fact, Oregon law prohibits the expungement of DUI convictions off permanent criminal background checks even if such cases have been dismissed after completing the DUI Diversion Program. 

Here are some of the main reasons why it’s imperative you hire a DUI attorney on your first DUI charge. 

Saving Your Driver’s License

You only have 10 days from the date of your drunk driving arrest to request a DMV hearing on your license suspension. This hearing is an administrative proceeding handled by the Oregon Office of Administrative Hearings and independent of the criminal case which happens in court.  If you fail to request a hearing within the 10-day window, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for at least 90 days.  Timing is of the essence and if you want to have any chance at saving your driver’s license it’s important you have a lawyer. Additionally, a qualified DUI attorney can use this opportunity to uncover issues in the state’s prosecution to build the foundation for a strong defense if the case does go to trial. 

Do I still need an Attorney if I plan to participate in the Oregon DUI Diversion Program? 

Many first-time DUI offenders are eligible for the Oregon DUI diversion program. This is a 12-month agreement made with the court that ultimately allows for the dismissal of the DUI charge providing that the defendant abides by the conditions in the agreement. If the person violates the terms of the program, then he/she could be revoked from diversion, convicted and sentenced. 

Studies have shown that the vast majority of people who fail diversion are the ones that try to do it alone without the accountability and support of a good DUI attorney. Additionally, an attorney can evaluate the complete case details before establishing whether the Diversion program is the correct decision, and subsequently is ready to fight on their behalf inside the courtroom.  

As a matter of law, the DUI Diversion applies only to the DUI charge. If there are additional charges, such as reckless driving or hit and run, you will need an experienced attorney to help work out an additional resolution for those charges. 

Getting a DUI is Extremely Stressful! 

One of the most overlooked advantages of hiring a good private DUI attorney is alleviating the fear and anxiety that accompanies the exhaustive DUI process. The possibility of losing your driver’s license, your housing, and going in front of a judge or even to jail can be overwhelming. It’s not just about getting the plea deal you want. Having a professional attorney advocating on your behalf will make the process smoother and less stressful. Furthermore, having an attorney that has open lines of communication and individual one-on-one time makes people feel more reassured. Especially when they have all their questions answered and concerns addressed. 

Spend less time in Court

Another benefit of hiring a private lawyer is minimizing the time you have to spend in court.  In some Oregon counties, public defender clients must personally appear for all scheduled court dates. Whereas with private counsel you have someone who can be present on your behalf for routine court appearances. For many people, including busy professionals, not having to miss work to attend court is a significant advantage.  

An Experienced DUI Attorney will analyze all the details surrounding the arrest. 

Having a specialized DUI defense attorney that understands law enforcement’s DUI investigation procedures is significant. An expert attorney, familiar with DUI law will analyze and conduct an independent investigation into the events surrounding the arrest that may otherwise be neglected such as: 

  • Whether any Constitutional rights were violated in the process of the arrest. 
  • The Probable Cause of the Arresting Police Officer
  • Evaluating Breathalyzer and Field Sobriety Tests
  • A detailed investigation into the evidence submitted by the prosecution
  • Whether the charges can be proven without a reasonable doubt

Hiring an attorney most often leads to better results

Oregon’s DUI laws are some of the most complicated in the entire country and details surrounding each case are unique. Hiring an expert DUI attorney familiar with the legal system and the prosecution’s strategies most often will lead to better results—through dismissal or negotiation to a lesser charge. Not to mention, the court is going to strongly suggest that you hire an attorney if it’s your first DUI.  

Hiring the right DUI attorney is a must

Now that we have established how important it is to hire a lawyer for a first DUI charge, it’s also critical that you hire “the right” DUI attorney. Not all Oregon DUI lawyers are the same. In fact, the difference between a dismissed case and serving jail time is a simple matter of expertise, devotion, and skill. Look for someone who communicates their strategy well to you and has a history of exceptional case results. 

 If you’ve been arrested or charged for your first DUI, you should immediately contact Portland DUI attorney Andy Green to schedule a free case evaluation. An experienced and compassionate attorney that will do everything possible to get the very best outcome.

DUIs & Background Checks in Oregon: How does it affect employment?

A conviction for driving under the influence in Oregon, or any other state for that matter, affects everything from insurance premiums to employment.  In Oregon, a DUI conviction remains on a record forever and will result in more serious consequences if you are charged with another crime in the future.  Most employment applications in 2021 include at least one question regarding a criminal record and unfortunately, a DUI could cost you many employment opportunities. 

If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Oregon, please don’t hesitate to call DUI defense attorney Andy Green. Serving the Greater Portland area including Multnomah, and Washington Counties, Andy is dedicated to doing everything possible to protect your future including your employment and reputation. 

Can a DUI affect my current employment? 

It should be noted that if someone has recently been arrested for a DUI/DUII and has not yet been convicted, this charge should not hurt a current job search unless your driver’s license has been suspended with the DMV due to the Implied Consent laws. However, when an offender is currently employed and gets charged with driving under the influence, most company policies allow for the employee to be fired at the discretion of the company. It is also important to mention that if a person loses their job as a result of a DUI, it is possible that they will not receive unemployment benefits. 

Job titles that require a commercial driver’s license (CDL) to drive such as a commercial truck driver will automatically result in a mandatory termination for a DUI conviction. 

It’s important to point out that under Oregon law, anyone convicted of DUI while holding a commercial driver’s license loses their commercial driving privileges; and CDL holders are denied the option to apply for a hardship permit that could allow them to continue working despite having a suspended license. Needless to say, being convicted of a DUI which requires you to drive for a living most likely will cost you your employment. 

Can a DUI prevent you from getting a job in Oregon? 

One of the most common criminal charges flagged by a potential employer on pre-employment background checks is driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DUI convictions appear in both criminal background checks as well as DMV driving record checks.  

Will a DUI on your record cause you to fail a background check and prevent you from getting a job in Oregon? Under certain circumstances, yes, but in many hiring situations an employer can use discretion in evaluating the importance and relevance to the job position you are filling. For instance, if you are applying for an outside sales position that would require driving as part of the job description for the company. 

Here are some of the contextual conditions companies consider when hiring a potential applicant with a DUI on their record. 

  • If the position the candidate seeks requires driving a vehicle, operating potentially dangerous equipment (forklift, heavy machinery), working with children, or other vulnerable people.
  • Whether the DUI is a misdemeanor or a felony. Misdemeanors usually are common with first offenses. Felony DUI convictions may indicate repeat offenses which is a huge red flag. 
  • The age of the DUI conviction. In the state of Oregon, a DUI remains on the permanent record for life. A more recent DUI charge will have different implications versus one a decade ago from an applicant with an otherwise clean record. 

Under Oregon’s new “ban the box” law, you may not be excluded from an initial interview solely because of a past criminal conviction, which includes driving under the influence. In addition, under the Portland “ban the box ordinance”, an employer may consider your criminal background check only after making a conditional offer of employment. If the employer decides they no longer desire to hire you based upon what they discovered during the background process they must take certain steps to stay compliant with the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA).

 

  • Provide you the applicant with a pre-adverse action letter, outlining the reasons they chose not to hire you based on your background information. 
  • They must give you the applicant time to dispute or correct any false information on the background check. 
  • If they decide to still not hire you based on your fixed or altered background check information they must send an official adverse action letter to you. 

Can I clear my DUI off my record in Oregon? 

Unfortunately, Oregon law prohibits the expungement of DUI convictions off permanent criminal background records, even when such cases have been dismissed after completing the Oregon DUI diversion program.  

Talk to DUI attorney Andy Green about DUI and employment background checks 

If you have recently been charged with a DUI in the greater Portland metro area and have further questions about employment background checks or specifics about your DUI case contact Portland DUI attorney Andy Green for a free consultation.

What happens if I refuse a breathalyzer in Oregon

Driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) is a serious offense in Oregon. Any person found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher will be placed under arrest and charged with a DUII. Unfortunately, there are other consequences related to a DUI regardless of your BAC level. If you are pulled over for a suspected DUI in the state of Oregon, the officer will administer a breathalyzer test if the arresting officer believes you are intoxicated. Refusal of the breath test can and will result in some harsh penalties.

Consequences of refusing a breathalyzer test

Police officers in Oregon use the Intoxilyzer 8000 breath test machine to administer a breath test. This test is administered after the officer has arrested you for drunk driving. Taking this breathalyzer test and blowing over the legal limit does not mean an automatic DUI conviction on your record. However, under the Oregon Implied Consent law if you refuse to take a breath test will result in a one-year suspension of your driver’s license and a $650 fine. Furthermore, it’s also likely that the arresting officer will obtain an on-site warrant to have a paramedic come and draw your blood. This blood test will be sent to the state crime lab and tested for its BAC level. 

What Should I do if I have been charged with refusing a breathalyzer test in Oregon? 

If you have been charged for refusing to submit to a breathalyzer, urine or blood test it’s extremely important that you contact my downtown Portland DUI law firm, Andy Green Attorney at Law P.C. to protect your driver’s license and keep you on the road.  You will need an experienced attorney to challenge the validity of the Implied Consent Breath test refusal. From the time of your arrest, you have 10 days to request a hearing to contest the refusal suspension or you will automatically lose your driver’s license for at least one year and up to 3 years. Therefore, it is critical that we do not miss this 10-day deadline to demand the hearing. 

What is Oregon’s Implied Consent Law

Did you know that when you became a legal driver in the state of Oregon you automatically “consented” to be tested for substances via a breath test, blood, or urine test at the request of law enforcement when under arrest for a DUI? 

What most people don’t realize is that driving privileges can be affected not only by the court system but also by the Division of Motor Vehicles. Once the DMV becomes aware that you’ve refused a breathalyzer test (or blood or urine test for that matter), your license will be suspended by the DMV. This happens even if you are found “not guilty” in the court system. 

Can I file for a Hardship Permit (Work Permit) After Refusing A Breathalyzer? 

If you refuse to take a breathalyzer and the DMV suspends your license for one year then you must wait a minimum of 90 days before you are eligible to apply for a hardship permit. Note: A hardship permit allows you to drive a non-commercial motor vehicle only. A Hardship permit grants permission of a valid Oregon licensed driver who has their license revoked or suspended to limited driving freedoms: See ORS 807.240 for qualifications. 

  • To drive to and from work within a 12 hour period.
  • To drive in selected Oregon counties while working on-the-job
  • To seek employment in select Oregon counties
  • To get to and from an alcohol or drug treatment program
  • The person or a member of the driver’s immediate family requires medical treatment on a regular basis and that the person must operate a motor vehicle in order that the treatment may be obtained

Contact Portland DUI Attorney Andy Green today to Protect Your License and Your Innocence. 

In Oregon, a refusal of a breathalyzer test by itself is considered a traffic violation, not a criminal offense. Unfortunately, the refusal of the breathalyzer test triggers a one-year implied consent driver’s license suspension and a DUI charge as well. If you have been charged with a DUI and related criminal charges such as refusing a breathalyzer test contact me today to save your license and your innocence.

dui defense strategies

DUI Defense Strategies in Oregon

According to the Oregon Department of Transportation and Safety Division there are more than 18,000 DUI arrests made in Oregon every year.  Just because someone is charged and arrested does not mean that they are guilty.  Therefore, it’s important to mount a credible DUI defense strategy that has the best chance of getting your charge dismissed.  

The Importance of having a Skilled DUI Defense Attorney 

This is by far the most important decision you can make after being arrested for a DUI in Oregon.  Having a specialized defense attorney that understands law enforcement’s DUI investigation strategies is paramount.  It is equally important that the DUI attorney has experience in DUI-specific trial techniques in order to assert the trial defenses in the courtroom. 

No matter the situations surrounding the DUI arrest, the right defense strategy can be found for the defendant. Portland DUI Defense Attorney Andy Green has used some of the following to formulate the right defense. 

Was the traffic stop legal? 

The arresting officer must have probable cause of a traffic violation to pull a vehicle over. That means that basically the officer must observe you commit a traffic violation first in order to pull you over. An officer may also pull you over if they have reasonable suspicion you have committed a crime, like DUI. Absent these things, the traffic stop would not be legal.

Administration / Accuracy of Field Sobriety Test  

Oregon law illustrates that field sobriety tests and the way that they are administered are only admissible in court if they are performed according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration standards. Breathalyzer instruments often pose limitations which include the device and how the law enforcement officer administers it.  If the breathalyzer device has not been recently calibrated or the police officer did not properly administer the test the reliability and accuracy are compromised and can result in a dismissal of the DUI. 

Blood Test Specimen Collection   

Under Oregon’s Implied Consent Law any person that is pulled over gives consent to a chemical test such as blood test to determine the amount of drugs or alcohol in someone’s system.  However, proving a DUI conviction by the prosecution solely on the basis of the results can be difficult with a skilled attorney. A skilled lawyer can question the validity of the blood test handling/mishandling during lab testing to see if any contaminants or testing errors have occurred. Furthermore, it is not uncommon for a BAC level to increase due to fermentation after the blood test was taken.  This is possible because the recently consumed alcohol has yet to fully absorb into the system but does with the BAC lab test.   

Violation of Procedures

In some instances, the police officer violated the defendant’s civil rights or acted in a way which was improper. For example, when a suspect is placed under arrest, it is the police officer’s responsibility to advise the defendant of their Miranda Rights, including the right to an attorney, the right to remain silent and a court-appointed attorney if the person cannot afford one.   

Rules of Evidence 

 To successfully prosecute a DUI charge it is the officer’s ability to organize and present all evidence in three phases of detection – the vehicle in motion, the personal contact with the defendant, and the pre-arrest screening. If the evidence is not presented clearly and the police officer has missed a specific detail in the report which is clear and concise the defense may be able to expose the weakness in the prosecution’s case. 

If you have been arrested and charged for a DUI in Oregon it is important that you have an experienced DUI attorney that is able to analyze all of the details surrounding the arrest and to formulate the best defense strategy for your particular case. Contact our law offices at 503.453.4674 for a free consultation today.

The Difference Between a First DUI and a First DUI Conviction in Oregon

One of the biggest misunderstandings people have when they first contact me is the difference between a first DUI and a first DUI conviction. Now a first DUI could result in a first conviction, but most of the time it doesn’t.

A first-time DUI charge can result in dismissal following Diversion

In Oregon, if you are arrested for a DUI for the first time and you meet certain qualifications, you will be eligible for a Diversion. A Diversion is an agreement with the Court that allows you to avoid a conviction.  If you successfully complete the Diversion, the DUI is dismissed after 12 months and a conviction is avoided. A person is only eligible for 1 DUI Diversion every 15 years..

Now if you have already successfully completed the Oregon DUI Diversion program in the past 15 years and you are arrested for another DUI, then you will be looking at a first DUI conviction.

First DUI Conviction penalties and consequences

A first DUI conviction in Oregon will result in a minimum of 48 hours in jail or 80 hours of community service. Additionally, there will be a minimum $1000 fine and a 1-year license suspension. A conviction will also require the treatment conditions that were present in the diversion as well. Depending on what county your conviction occurs in there will be 12-36 months of either supervised or bench probation.

So given that Oregon allows most people to avoid a conviction on their first DUI arrest, therefore, it’s very possible to have been arrested for DUI twice, but only have one DUI conviction.

It’s also important to point out that a person who does DUI Diversion will not have the jail, community service, fines, and license suspensions that are associated with a first-time conviction.

Expert Portland DUI Attorney Providing Free Consultations

If you have been arrested for your first DUI and have more questions regarding your case, contact my Portland DUI defense firm online or call 503-477-5040 to schedule a free consultation. I represent clients in the Greater Portland Metro area including Washington, Clackamas, and Multnomah Counties.

drugged driving in Oregon

DUI Controlled Substance in Oregon

Did you know that you can get a DUI in Oregon even if you haven’t been drinking?

Many Oregon residents are surprised to learn that “Driving Under the Influence” isn’t limited to the influence of alcohol. You can also get into legal trouble for operating a vehicle if you have prescription drugs, weed, narcotics, and other illegal drugs or intoxicants in your system. Even something as seemingly innocent as cold medicine could put you at risk for a felony charge.

These substances are known to impair judgment, reaction time, depth perception, and coordination, making them dangerous when combined with driving. For example, someone on opioids for pain may be drowsy or dizzy. And, a driver who has recently used cocaine or methamphetamines might be more reckless or aggressive on the road. 

Many think that marijuana is a harmless substance, but research shows that it can cause drivers to weave in and out of lanes, react slowly to stimuli, and they tend to pay less attention to the road

In Oregon, the official charge is called a DUII, or driving under the influence of intoxicants.

Statistics on Drugged Driving

A recent report from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health found that 12.8 million people drove while under the influence of illicit drugs in 2017. Drunk driving is still more prevalent than drugged driving, with 21.4 million admitting to committing this crime.

Intoxication Levels

The national standard for drunk driving is a Blood-Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 g/mL. There is no such standard for drugged driving primarily because drugs affect people differently, so a high concentration in one person may not have the same effect on someone else.

To determine if a driver is intoxicated, police officers are specially trained to detect impairment due to intoxicants. 

Unlike other states, Oregon is not a “zero tolerance” state. This means that drivers can still legally operate a vehicle even if they have controlled substances in their system. Further, there’s no threshold of a legal versus an illegal amount of drug that makes driving a crime. Instead, the police determine if the drugs are adversely affecting the person’s ability to drive before issuing a DUII. 

Methods of Detection

Currently, there is no scientifically sound method or systematic approach to proving drug impairment. The first step an officer is likely to take is to rule out alcohol when they observe a driver that is acting erratically. After committing a field breath-alcohol test and finding the drive to be alcohol-free, the police officer will then turn his or her attention to detecting drug use.

To detect the presence and concentration of illicit substances, the driver must then take a blood or urine test.

Drugged Driving Penalties

If you’re arrested for a DUII, your license will be suspended for 90 days, and you’ll have to pay some fees. A DUI attorney is a necessity to either help prove your innocence or reduce the consequences of both the administrative and criminal penalties that you could face if convicted. If you’re found guilty of a DUII, then the typical punishment for a first offense is a license suspension for a period of one year, a hefty fine (up to $10,000), and the subsequent use of an IID (ignition interlock device) after the suspension period is over.

Criminal penalties are also a possibility, including community service and/or a jail sentence lasting up to one year. 

Everyone makes mistakes, and you deserve a lawyer you can trust to help argue your case. Contact the law office of Andy Green today for a free consultation.

DUI Court Hearing Oregon

DUI Hearings and Court Dates in Oregon: What to Expect

After a DUI arrest, you might be wondering what’s next in the process. You’ve been released from a brief, likely overnight, stay in jail, and you’re free to go. 

Now comes the trial process.

We call it a “process” because you can expect to be in court more than one time. In your first court date, you won’t have any information about what the state has against you or any evidence that could imply guilt. Therefore, the trial process is your chance to either prove your innocence or minimize the criminal and financial penalties of a DUII.

The Arraignment

You can expect your first court date, called the arraignment, to occur either the next day or within a few days, though it could be up to a month later. 

The arraignment is when you’re officially charged with a crime, and it’s the first step of the process. The main purpose of this appearance is to ensure that the court has gotten your identity correct. The judge will confirm the spelling of your name, your date of birth, and give you your next court date.

If you choose to go to the arraignment, you’ll enter the courtroom and wait for your name to be called. When you hear your name, your DUI attorney (if you have one) will approach the bench and receive a copy of your charges. 

At this point, you or your lawyer will enter a plea of “guilty,” “not guilty,” or “no contest.” If plead “not guilty,” then you’ll be assigned a new court date with the District Attorney.

Is Attendance at the Arraignment Mandatory?

You must attend your arraignment unless your DUI attorney tells you otherwise. Failure to appear could result in the court issuing a warrant for your arrest. In some cases, your DUI lawyer may be able to cancel the arraignment or appear on your behalf, but you must either be present or have representation. Otherwise, you could face further penalties and criminal charges.

The Discovery Process

After the arraignment, your DUI attorney will request to receive a copy of all the evidence against you, in a process called “Discovery.” The discovery documents will include the police report, results from the lab or breathalyzer tests, and notes from a field sobriety test (if you took one, and hopefully you did not).

After reviewing all of the evidence, a qualified DUI attorney will be able to determine if the police followed the correct procedures, whether your rights were respected or violated, and what your best options are moving forward. 

Preliminary Hearing

After you plead “not guilty,” which is almost always going to be the best course of action, your next court date will be a preliminary hearing where the state prosecutor has a burden of convincing the judge that there is probable to find you guilty of a DUII. If the state cannot furnish enough evidence, then the case is dismissed.

Trial

Finally, if it gets this far, there will be a trial, complete with opening statements, witnesses, and closing arguments. 

Tips for Your Court Appearance

 

While you may not be experienced in court proceedings, a judge is, and he or she could be influenced by your behavior and appearance in the courtroom. It’s imperative that you present yourself as an upstanding citizen to improve your chances of making a favorable impression.

How to Dress:

  • Males should wear a suit that is clean and neatly pressed with well-maintained footwear. If you don’t have a suit, then a pair of slacks with a professional button-down shirt and tie will suffice.

  • Females can opt for a suit or a pair of dress pants paired with a blouse. A conservative-length skirt is also acceptable.

What Not to Do:

  • Don’t bring food or drink into the courtroom. This includes chewing gum. 
  • Don’t be late. Make sure you arrive on time or early.
  • Don’t be disrespectful. Address the judge as “Your Honor,” and maintain a polite and even tone when speaking.
  • Don’t argue. Judges have heard every excuse and argument dozens, if not hundreds, of times already. Stick to the facts of your case.

Need help with your DUII case? Contact DUI Attorney, Andy Green, today.

portland dui news

Portland Police Commander Resigns After DUI Crash While Off-Duty

A DUI charge can be a life-altering experience and have far-reaching consequences beyond a temporary license suspension, community service, or a prison sentence.

It can also affect your reputation and career, especially if you’re in a high-profile position.

Former Portland police commander, Steven James Jones, experienced the consequences firsthand when he was charged with a DUI in June 2018 while driving his police-issued SUV while off duty.

Are You Subject to a Morality Clause?

Several professions are required to follow a code of ethics, even during their off-time. Also called Morality Clauses, these rules are designed to protect the reputation of the employer in case an employee acts in a way that is inconsistent with the organization’s values.

The consequences for violating a morality clause include disciplinary action, and in many cases, termination of employment.

Morality clauses are becoming increasingly common (especially with the rise of social media), and a variety of organizations include them in employment contracts, including:

  • Teachers
  • Police Officers
  • Actors and Television Personalities
  • High-profile Executives

In the case of Jones, this charge comes with an extra side of irony. His title with the Police Bureau was Commander of the Professional Standards Division.

Severe Consequences

Jones served the police bureau for almost 25 years before the incident. The discipline he could face was bound to be severe, so he elected to resign from his position before anyone could force him or terminate him.

To serve for the Oregon Police Department requires a certification from the state police licensing agency, and a DUI could also put this certification in jeopardy.

An Expensive Mistake

Not only did Jones break the law, but he did it in a government vehicle. The financial damages he had to pay totaled $38,239.95, which covered the expense of the SUV and the cost to repair the pole he hit in the collision.

Thankfully, no one was with Jones in the vehicle at the time of the accident. Otherwise, the penalties could have been even more severe.

The Elephant in the Room

Being a police officer is a visible job and getting in an accident after driving intoxicated is a black mark on the reputation of the police force. We expect the police to take their role of “Serve and Protect” seriously, even when off duty. When Jones made a choice to drive his company vehicle with a BAC over the legal .08 limit, he put lives in danger.

Being angry at this conduct is normal, but that’s not the lesson of this blog post. The moral of this story is that even a police officer is not “above” the law. He got caught, and he has to face the consequences of his actions. What’s more, if anyone could figure out how to wiggle out of the law, a veteran police officer would certainly be able to pull it off. However, the rules on DUIs in Oregon are clear, and there are consequences.

Still, it could have been worse for Jones. Though he will feel the pinch financially (he will still get his pension, but it will be less than if he had remained on the force a few months longer and reached the 25-year milestone), he avoided jail and is on one year of probation.

To ensure you get fair legal treatment, contact a DUI attorney for a consultation.

drunk driving portland

Portland ranks high on the list for “America’s Drunkest Driving Cities”

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 30 lives are lost every day across America due to drunk driving.  The cost data reveals that deaths and damages incurred by drunk drivers amass to over $40 billion annually.

A 2018 study analyzed by QuoteWizard found the City of Portland, Oregon ranked 12th as the highest rate of DUI’s per driver.   (See the chart below)

Last year the same study found that Portland also ranked 8th as the city with the worst drivers, with the survey analyzing DUI’s, car crashes, traffic citations, and speeding tickets per driver.

dui study highest rate of duis

The High Price of Drunk Driving

The consequences of drunk driving are immensely costly. The Alaska Department of Vehicles estimated that the total expense of a first DUI conviction is the equivalent of paying for a taxi cab ride halfway around the world.

Some of the expenses that are typically associated with a DUI conviction include bail, impound costs, court fines, legal fees, DUI education courses, probation fees, drug and alcohol assessment and counseling, license reinstatement fees and loss of work income.

The study found that drivers with a DUI arrest suffer an increase in their car insurance rates on average of $833/year for at least 3 years. Which translates to an additional $2500 more on car insurance rates for 3 years after the DUI arrest.

The average cost of the DUI after adding in legal fees and fines brought the average cost of a first time DUI to over $7000 or more.  

The Importance of Good Legal Representation

If you have been arrested or charged for a DUI in Oregon, contact a DUI defense attorney who understands how to navigate you through the legal system in order to help minimize or avoid the consequences of a drunk driving conviction. This will save you time and money in the long run.