Hiring a DUI Lawyer in Gresham, Oregon

Gresham, Oregon is a city located immediately east of downtown Portland, in Multnomah County. The fourth largest city in Oregon as of 2010, Gresham has quite the history, bearing the name of American Civil War general and eventual Postmaster General Walter Quinton Gresham. A quieter oasis outside the major hub of Portland, Gresham is now the ideal location for young professionals, growing families, immigrants and life-long Oregonians to reside. The jump from rural, farming community to diverse, urban offshoot is an exciting change for many. But for some people, too much excitement and new experiences can lead to a world of trouble in the form of a DUI.

A DUI (or, Driving Under the Influence) is a criminal offense involving the action of driving while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol. According to the Oregon Metro’s 2012 State of Safety report, driving while under the influence of intoxicants is the number one cause of fatal traffic collisions in the region. The great news for Gresham is that, in this report, East Multnomah county had the least number of fatal crashes in the Portland Metro area. Regardless, communities and individuals should still be vigilant about safety on the roads. But what happens if you are the person who makes such a serious mistake? Your first step is always to get in touch with a criminal defense lawyer specializing in DUI cases.

When you are looking for an attorney for your DUI case, you’ll want someone with experience in navigating this specific type of crime. A Portland DUI lawyer will have knowledge of how the court system works, and of the plea deals and bargains that come with this type of case. If this is your second or third DUI, you will definitely want to seek legal representation. As far as finding the best lawyer for your needs, well, that will take some shopping around on your part. Do your research, meet with lawyers in your area for a (usually free) consultation, and don’t be afraid to ask questions about fees and costs associated with having that person representing you in court.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUII in Gresham, or elsewhere in the state of Oregon, contact Portland DUI/DUII lawyer Andy Green at 1-503-477-5040.

What is a Unitary Assessment Fee for an Oregon DUII Charge?

While most drivers are concerned with the $1000 fine and the suspension of a drivers license it is important to remember there are other costs when it comes to a Portland, Oregon DUII. The unitary assessment fee is $95 and must be paid by anyone that is charged with a DUII in the state of Oregon. Other fees could include a $40 assessment fee, a $130 fee for an intoxicated driver program, a county assessment fee of $59 and a $90 diagnostic fee. Depending on which county you receive the DUII ticket you could have other fees to pay as well.

No matter how many times you have been charged and convicted with a DUII in the state of Oregon you are going to have to pay the $95 unitary assessment fee. If you are concerned about the loss of your license, the fees and possible jail time for a DUII in Oregon please contact me at 1-503-477-5040. I offer free consultation and will be willing to visit you while you are in jail. Having represented hundreds of individuals with a DUII ticket I have the knowledge and experience to help lessen your charge. Finding an experienced Portland DUII Lawyer is as easy as using the contact us form here.

Please note that the fees and costs mentioned above are for those that have been arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence of intoxicants for the first time. The fines increase with each subsequent arrest. The second arrest increases the fine to a minimum of $1500 and the third arrest increases the minimum fine to $2000. Also remember that all DUII convictions must receive a mandatory alcohol evaluation to determine the extent of their alcohol problems.

If you are facing a first time DUII charge you may want to consider the Oregon DUII Diversion program. Completion of the program will result in the dismissal of your DUI charge. If you have any questions related to this particular program please access our resource here: Portland, Oregon DUI Diversion Program.

Finding an Oregon DUI Lawyer in Tigard

Tigard, Oregon is the state’s 12th largest city. It is located in Washington County, which is also home to the state’s largest city, Portland. It is a small town, and is home to many hard-working people who blow off steam at the nearby Washington Square Mall, one of the largest in the country, and at a number of summer festivals and markets that have cropped up in the area over the years. Sometimes, though, these hard-working Oregonians blow off steam in a very different way: by using drugs and alcohol, and making the terrible and sometimes fatal decision to drive while intoxicated.

DUI’s (or DWI’s, or DWII’s as they are known in Oregon) are a criminal offense involving the action of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In most states, that means your BAC (or Blood Alcohol Content) is 0.08% of your bloodstream. According to the Oregon Metro’s 2012 State of Safety report, driving while under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol is the number one cause of fatal traffic collisions in the area. Tigard, though the 12th largest city, is in the top five for fatal crashes. That is an all-encompassing statistic (as in, it does not break down which of these fatal crashes are alcohol and drug-related) but individuals in Tigard and all over Oregon should be vigilant about safety on the roads. If you are the one who makes the potentially fatal mistake of driving while intoxicated, your first step is always to get in touch with a criminal defense lawyer specializing in DUI cases.

When you are searching for an attorney for your DUI case, you’ll want someone with experience in navigating this specific type of crime. A Portland DUII lawyer will have knowledge of how the court system works, and of the plea deals and bargains that come with this type of case. If this is your second or third DUI, you will definitely want to seek legal representation. As far as finding the best lawyer for your needs, well, that will take some shopping around on your part. Do research on which lawyers are in your area, meet with them for a (usually free) consultation, and don’t be afraid to ask questions about fees and costs associated with having that person represent you in court.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUII in Tigard, or elsewhere in the state of Oregon, contact Portland DUI/DUII lawyer Andy Green at 1-503-477-5040.

Hiring a DUI Lawyer in Beaverton, Oregon

Beaverton, Oregon is a growing city just seven miles west of downtown Portland, a hip, flourishing area filled with amazing shops, restaurants, bars, and all the fun of a major coastal city in the Pacific Northwest. Beaverton itself has much to offer in the way of fun and entertainment. A quieter oasis outside the major hub of Portland, Beaverton boasts one of the top shopping malls in the country, Washington Square; an unparalleled summer market, the Beaverton Farmers’ Market; and proximity to the beautiful scenery of Oregon and Washington States. But for some people, too much fun and relaxation can lead to a world of trouble in the form of a DUI.

A DUI (or, Driving Under the Influence) is a criminal offense involving the action of driving while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol. According to the Oregon Metro’s 2012 State of Safety report, driving while under the influence of intoxicants is the number one cause of fatal traffic collisions in the region. Beaverton specifically has come under attack in the last year or so as reports from the Oregon Liquor Control Commission show that, for a four year period, three bars in the area have been cited consistently as the establishments where DUI offenders were over-served before hopping behind the wheel.

Malone’s Ale House was linked to 102 DUII arrests between December 2009 and July 2013. The Peppermill Restaurant & Lounge is connected to 75 DUII arrests during this time, and the West Union Sports Pub & Family Restaurant was linked to 68. Though incredibly problematic for the Beaverton and Washington County areas, these DUII numbers across the Metro area are, overall, on the decline, as are the number of DUII-related deaths.

In 2007, there were 138 deaths in the state of Oregon as a result of a DUII. That number dropped to 56 in 2010 and slightly rose to 87 in 2011. Some people believe that this number could be eradicated altogether if Oregon reinstated DUI checkpoints.

Since 1987 Oregon is one of just 12 states that has banned DUI checkpoints. Those that have moved to Oregon from other states may be shocked to know that DUI checkpoints are not common, or even possible, even on nights such as New Year’s Eve or Memorial Day Weekend. Studies have shown that DUI checkpoints reduce the number of alcohol related crashes by 9% but the state or Oregon does not want to infringe upon the rights of its residents; including those that will be driving vehicles on Oregon highways and roads.

That is not to say there has been opposition to this legislation. Senator Rod Monroe (D) is pushing for the reinstatement of DUI checkpoints in Oregon. In fact, his proposal has been added to Senate Bill 13 and could be on ballots in 2016 during the next voting period. Ultimately, Oregon residents (voters) will get to make the decision if DUI checkpoints are reinstated.

When searching for the best DUI lawyer in the Portland, Oregon area look no further than Mr. Andy Green. He has the knowledge and experience to represent you in the court of law. If you this is your second or third DUI we would strongly suggest seeking legal representation as the fines and penalties are much more severe. Andy Green offers free consultation and can even visit you while in jail. He will work diligently to help you in this difficult time. Do not be afraid to ask questions or seek legal consul advice as this could be one of the most important decisions you make in your adult life.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUII in the state of Oregon, contact Portland DUI/DUII lawyer Andy Green at 503-477-5040.

DWI, DUI or DUII Resulting in Injury of Out Of State Drivers

There are many various ways people ending up getting DWIs, DUIs or DUIIs in Portland. Sometimes drivers get stopped for reckless driving, swerving, speeding, driving too slow, or they go through a checkpoint. In other cases an impaired driver may get into an accident and injure someone.

Let’s say an impaired driver rear ended a driver on Interstate 5. The injured party may end up seeking the advice and representation of an attorney of their own, especially if the injuries are serious. Now if this injured driver is not from Oregon, but resides in California, they may hire an attorney who is conveniently located near them. Drivers travel from Sacramento to Portland along Interstate 5 every day. A quick Google search shows us that there is an attorney in Sacramento who specializes in auto accidents, personal injury attorney Ed Smith. He also has a page dedicated to out of state accidents here. As you can see, this is something that unfortunately happens all the time.

Getting sued by a personal injury attorney is not the end of the world assuming you have adequate liability insurance coverage. If you’re not sure what that is please see Wikipedia’s page, liability insurance. If you do not, you should consult with me as soon as possible.

High Risk Insurance in Oregon

If you end up arrested for DWI and another party was injured here or anywhere, be prepared for “high risk insurance”. I may have recommendations for you for high risk insurance companies.

In Oregon, arrests for traffic offenses do remain on your record. But not all arrests result in conviction, which is yet another reason why you need to consult with a DWI attorney. A DWI conviction will remain on your record for a long time, in fact, it remains on your record permanently and may not be expunged. Oregon has some of the toughest DUI laws in the United States. Having a DUI, DUII or DWI on your record results in high risk insurance.

What to do

If you have received a DWI, DUI, or DUII resulting in (or not resulting in) injury to another driver you should get help from a defense attorney who specializes in assisting drivers who have been arrested for driving while intoxicated. I am Portland’s best so feel free to contact me or read my page dedicated to DWI, DUI or DUII defense here.

How Many Glasses of Champagne Equals One Shot of Liquor?

The percent of alcohol in champagne is approximately 12.2% which compares to 12.5% for red wine and 18.8% for dessert wine. In essence, drinking a four ounce glass of champagne is similar to drink a four ounce glass of wine. Remember that one shot of most liquors is equal to one four ounce glass of wine. That being said, it must be understood that alcohol that is combined with carbonation can often accelerate the buzz/drunkenness felt by the person consuming the beverage.

Some individuals have had a “black out” drunk experience off champagne or dessert wine yet they can drink several shots of whiskey or gin and not feel the same effects in such a short amount of time. When drinking any type of carbonated alcoholic beverage please be aware of the fact that it can get you drunk quicker. While the numbers state that one four ounce glass of champagne is equal to one shot of liquor it can often seem like the champagne is much stronger.

For more on the color of wine and the alcohol by content please use our resource here: Does the Color of Wine Determine the Alcohol by Content? Below find the statistics on alcohol content by volume for different types of wine:

Number of standard drinks – wine

Red wine 12.5% alc. vol

100 ml standard serve – 1 standard drink
150 ml average restaurant serving – 1.5 standard drinks
750 ml bottle – 7.7 standard drinks
2 litre cask – 21 standard drinks
4 litre cask – 41 standard drinks

White wine 11.5% alc. vol

100 ml standard serve – 0.9 standard drink
150 ml average restaurant serving – 1.4 standard drinks
750 ml bottle – 6.8 standard drinks
2 litre cask – 18 standard drinks
4 litre cask – 36 standard drinks

Champagne 12.2% alc. vol

150 ml average restaurant serving – 1.4 standard drinks
750 ml bottle – 7.1 standard drinks

Remember that if you get a DUI citation there is the potential for a reckless endangerment charge that could be added. This is a Class A misdemeanor which is the same level as a first time DUI. If you need defense against DUI or reckless endangerment charges please feel free to contact me at 503-477-5040. Fighting these criminal charges could save you quite a bit of time in jail and/or money for the citation.

Multnomah County, Clackamas County, and Washington County Oregon DUI Statistics

Drunk driving in the United States is nearly an epidemic. According to the 2012 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, 29.1 million people have admitted to driving drunk at one time or another in their life, which is more than the population of Texas. 23.1% of those people are between the ages of 21 to 25 years old, and the average drunk driver has driven while intoxicated upwards of 80 times before being arrested. Even scarier stats: every two minutes, a person is injured in a drunk driving-related accident; and, as of 2013, someone is killed every 52 minutes by a drunk driver.

So, where does Oregon stand in all of this? Aside from a 19.3% increase in drunk driving-related deaths from last year, according to MADD.org, Oregon is making improvements in the state drunk driving laws, which in turn is causing a decrease in DUII arrests, and an overall drop in death tolls. So, how are some Oregon counties stacking up to the state records? Here are three that are working towards lowering their DUII arrest rates and making the entire state a safer place to drive:

Multnomah County

Multnomah County is the most populous county in Oregon, because it houses Oregon’s largest city, Portland. A steadily-increasing population means additional drivers on the roads, some making very poor decisions when it comes to drinking and driving. But, aside from a spike in DUII arrests in 2004 (4,171), Multnomah County has seen a nice decrease in drunk driving arrests, averaging about 3,200 per year between 1998 and 2008.

Washington County

Washington County, Oregon, is the second-most populous county in the state, boasting 529,710 people as of the 2010 census. Of those 529,710 people, around 2,700 were arrested in 2008 on DUII charges, the third most of the ten year period that spans the DUII Data Book (oregon.gov/ODOT). This was the same year that the state of Oregon as a whole saw a 1.1% decrease in DUII arrests.

Clackamas County

Clackamas is the third-largest county in Oregon, and with a 50,000 person increase in population over ten years, the Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office has seen a 2,200 DUII arrest increase over that same amount of time. The lowest number of arrests took place in the year 2000; the highest, in 2002.

Though statistics are never fun and sometimes hard to read, it is important that everyone in every state know the reality of the drunk driving situation in and around the areas in which they live. A proactive and staunch approach to drinking and driving (each a separate activity) will make everyone’s lives happier and safer, no matter where they live.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUII in the state of Oregon, contact Portland DUI/DUII lawyer Andy Green.

General State of Oregon DUI and MIP Citations

Drunk driving in the United States is nearly an epidemic. According to the 2012 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, 29.1 million people have admitted to driving drunk at one time or another in their life, which is more than the population of Texas. 23.1% of those people are between the ages of 21 to 25 years old, and the average drunk driver has driven while intoxicated upwards of 80 times before being arrested. Even scarier stats: every two minutes, a person is injured in a drunk driving-related accident; and, as of 2013, someone is killed every 52 minutes by a drunk driver.

So, where does Oregon stand in all of this? According to MADD.org, Oregon is a “three star” state out of five, having made major improvements in the state drunk driving laws over the last eight years. The Oregon DUII Data Book, covering the years 1998 through 2008, shows that car crashes as a result of drunk driving that cause fatalities and injuries has decreased from 19,284 in 1999 to 18,409 in 2008. And, DUII offenses have decreased by 1.1% over the ten-year period, which is impressive considering the 14.8% increase in population during that time in Oregon state. For those convicted, the number of diversion agreements (or, an alternative sentence to jail time) has also decreased, by 11.6%, which presumably means harsher sentencing from Oregon state judges.

On the subject of young people under the influence, Minor in Possession (MIP) citations have been cut in half since 1998, decreasing from 14,849 to 7,762 by 2008. In that same year, 718 juveniles were denied their license privileges, presumably because of past citations and/or convictions. Most importantly, though, the number of fatalities in people under the age of 21 has decreased in Oregon, again almost by half. In 1998, 77 youths died alcohol-related deaths, and in 2008, that number was 34. But, all of these statistics, though good and evident of progress, do not mean that the hard work is over. The fact of the matter is, there are still drunk drivers out on the roads, in Oregon and everywhere else, and young people experimenting with drugs and alcohol before getting behind the wheel. Diligence on the part of our law enforcement officers to educate citizens and stop dangerous driving in action will eradicate drunk driving and make the necessity of these statistics a thing of the past.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUII in the state of Oregon, contact Portland DUI/DUII lawyer Andy Green.

Can I Get a DUI or DUII For a Single Drink If I Am underage?

Drinking underage is a huge risk that can affect the rest of your life if you are caught. Though it can be potentially fun and exciting as, say, a teenager to engage in alcohol-related activities, it can also be dangerous and possibly fatal to those involved. That is why the only times that minors are legally allowed to imbibe are:

  1. In a private setting (such as a home) in the presence or with the permission of a legal guardian or consenting adult
  2. For religious purposes (such as the drinking of sacramental wine in a church)
  3. For government work (in a controlled setting for research purposes)

In Oregon, the rate of underage drinking is exponentially higher than it is in other states. And, the rate of alcohol-related auto fatalities caused by underage drivers versus those caused by drivers 21 years of age and older is also much higher. Therefore, the state has very strict laws and regulations when it comes to DUI’s and underage drinking.

Oregon’s DUI laws are the same for a minor as they are for an adult. This means that, if a person or persons under the age of 21 are pulled over while driving and are in suspicion of drinking, and their BAC (blood alcohol content) is anything above 00.00%, they could be charged with a DUI. The penalties of an underage DUI charge include imprisonment, fines, and license suspension. In addition, an underage driver could also be charged with distributing alcohol to (other) minors, possession of alcohol, solicitation of alcohol, child endangerment, and more, depending on the specifics of the situation.

If you or someone you know has been charged with an underage DUII in the state of Oregon, contact me at 503-477-5040 or you can use my contact page here.

Is There a Breathalyzer App for the iPhone or an Android Phone?

Nowadays, it seems like we have an app for everything: getting directions, keeping track of our calories, and even finding parking spaces on crowded city blocks. There are also apps that, for a minimal cost, can act as a breathalyzer and test the level of alcohol in your bloodstream. So, how does this technology work? And what are the options out there for iPhone and Android phone users? And more importantly, is it at all reliable?

First, the technology of a breathalyzer app varies between providers, but the first step almost always involves downloading said app to your smartphone. Some of these apps are free, and some will cost you. Some, like “Can I Drive Yet?” on Apple’s App Store, act as a calculator. The user inputs their age, sex, weight, height, and how much they’ve had to drink, and the app provides an estimate of their BAC, or Blood Alcohol Content. Others are components of a larger system that involves connecting an actual breathalyzer to your phone, physically or via Bluetooth, that will give you a reading on your screen. Some of the top-rated apps out there include BACtrack, Alcohoot, and Breathometer. These products range in price from $30 to $150, and they also range in size. Some, like The Original Breathometer or the BACtrack Go or Vio, can fit in your pocket or on a keychain. The Breathometer is wearable and doesn’t require a disposable mouthpiece. And almost all employ what is called Back To Zero technology, which predicts when you will be back at a 0% BAC, or at the very least, a safe level to drive.

iphone-breathalyzer-app

Speaking of safety, the jury is still out on the effectiveness and accuracy of these apps and their external components. A Today Show experiment conducted back in August of last year showed a wide range of test results for these apps, some that doubled the participants’ BAC, and some that underrated the results of the breathalyzer by 66%, a dangerous dip for someone considering whether or not to get behind the wheel. The general consensus among law enforcement is that if you are questioning your level of sobriety, you don’t need an app to tell you not to drive. The one positive of these apps is that it does allow access to so much information through our smartphones. Specifically, through the apps of the three aforementioned top contenders (BACtrack, Alcohoot, and Breathometer), a person can find nearby restaurants, open hotels, and call a cab or Uber car to get them home safely.

For more information on DUII citations and how breathalyzer tests work please access our valuable resource on breathalyzer tests in Oregon here. If you have any questions as it relates to a DUII or breathalyzer test do not hesitate to reach out to me today. You can contact me at 1-503-477-5040. I will be more than happy to help you as a successful Portland DUI Lawyer.